Skip to content
Compounder
← Stocks

Rlj Lodging Trust

RLJWithin bandExpectations · demanding

Held by 1 superinvestor.

Price$11.02
Holders1
Total value$145.9M

SEC 10-K · fundamentals

Business quality

as of 2025-12-31

Valuation basis: trailing twelve months to 2026-06-30 — latest 10-K plus unaudited 10-Q filings.

Revenue growth
-1.4%
Net margin
2.1%
ROE
1.3%
FCF margin
Revenue $473.1M → $1.35B · 6y
What makes a business high quality

Valuation · value band

In fair-value range

$1/ sh · growth-anchored intrinsic value
margin of safety
fair value
above fair value
$11
cheaperpricier

Zero-growth floor

$14

Central IV

$1

Optimistic top

$14

Rlj Lodging Trust (RLJ): A conservative value band $14 / sh (zero-growth floor to growth-capped optimistic top); central read about $1. Today’s price sits inside that band (price $11 as of 2026-09-01).

The middle figure is the main read. The right end is the optimistic case under the same conservative caps — not an absolute ceiling.

Revenue growth 5% (lower of historical trend and fundamental cap, capped by moat) · moat 0 yr · discount 14.6% · Zero-growth downside $14

Price as of 2026-09-01 · yahoo · DGS10 4.8% @ 2026-09-01.

Method & numbers

Operating income is not reported separately (e.g. banks, insurers, and some diversified issuers), so earnings power is shown via the owner-earnings lens only; the unlevered NOPAT lens does not apply.

Price is at or below the reproducible tangible asset base ($14 / sh) — a rarer, harder floor.

Model cautions

  • Owner-earnings yield diverges sharply from the 10-year Treasury (over 300 bps).

A conservative intrinsic-value band (zero-growth floor to growth-capped DCF) plus a tangible asset floor — not investment advice, not a buy/sell signal, and not a price target.

Owner-earnings DCF $0.43 – $0.65 · Greenwald zero-growth $14.26 · zero-growth base $14.26 · reproduction $14.26

Moat Below asset base · terminal value 34% of present value · owner-earnings yield 1% vs 10Y 4.8%.

Graham earnings-power value (normalized NOPAT)

Operating income is not reported separately (e.g. banks, insurers, and some diversified issuers), so earnings power is shown via the owner-earnings lens only; the unlevered NOPAT lens does not apply.

Normalized NOPAT from operating margin — not applicable when operating income is not reported separately. Unlevered (pre-interest, attributable to all capital). Capitalized at the 9–11% rate band (read as a WACC proxy). Enterprise → equity bridge (+ cash − total debt) — not applied (lens not assessable).

Years: TTM 2026-06-30, 2024, 2023, 2022, 2021

Buffett owner-earnings value$0.41 – $0.47 / sh

Owner earnings = average net income + average D&A − maintenance capex (zero-growth floor; no ΔNWC). Levered (starts from net income, already after interest — an equity-holder stream). Capitalized at the 13.0–15.0% band (9–11% base + 4.0pp leverage premium). No enterprise→equity bridge: the capitalized result is already equity value (subtracting debt would double-count interest).

Years: TTM 2026-06-30, 2024, 2023, 2022, 2021

v1 simplifications: Maintenance capex or D&A unavailable → degraded to normalized net income (= average net income over the years shown). One-time items are not separately normalized (multi-year averaging smooths them partially). Share-based compensation is left as a real expense (not added back); see the SBC/OE disclosure. Capitalized at the 9–11% base band plus a 4.0pp leverage premium (cost of equity rises with leverage — MM Proposition II). Net debt is about 189.9 years of owner earnings, adding 4.0pp of cost-of-equity risk premium.

Reproduction value = tangible net assets $2.15B = $14.26 / sh. Total book value (shareholders' equity ÷ diluted shares); intangibles not separated — goodwill/intangibles unavailable this period.

Moat reading: Franchise test compares earnings power (EPV) against reproduction value (tangible net assets + capitalized R&D). EPV well above reproduction value signals a moat; near it, a commodity; below it, value destruction. Dual reproduction test unavailable (intangibles not separated). A directional reading, not a verdict.

Growth value gated to zero — no moat or ROIIC ≤ WACC, so no growth value is credited.

Window TTM 2026-06-30, FY 2024, 2023, 2022, 2021 · discount band 9%11% · normalized tax 2% (Average effective tax rate over 5 year(s), capped at the statutory 21%.) · diluted shares.

Baseline 9%–11%, net debt ≈ 189.9 years of owner earnings → +4.0pp cost-of-equity premium → effective 13.0%–15.0%.

Owner-earnings DCF: growth g₁ 5% · OE FY TTM 2026-06-30, 2024, 2023, 2022, 2021 · Discount band: 13.29%–16.00% (DGS10 +4.5% to a 12% strict end, each +4.00pp for leverage premium, as of 2026-09-01). No enterprise→equity bridge: owner earnings already flow to shareholders (post-interest), so no net cash is added and no debt subtracted — matching the engine owner-earnings lamp.

Valuation basis: trailing twelve months to 2026-06-30 — latest 10-K plus unaudited 10-Q filings.

What the price is betting

Today's price pencils in about over 30.0% (outside the usual range) a year in owner-earnings for the next few years. Revenue actually grew 22.2% a year.

The market wants it well ahead of its own track record.

Roughly, the price needs its historical revenue growth to run about 34 more years to hold up.

How to read intrinsic value

SEC 13F · holders

Superinvestors Holding This Security

1 holder · $145.9M combined · this quarter +0 opened / -0 exited

This quarter1 trimmed
Holders 1 → 1 · last 8q
  • Value$145.9MWeight (prev→now)2.0% 2.6%

SEC 13F · notes

Written summary

Rlj Lodging Trust (RLJ) is held by 1 of the superinvestors tracked on Compounder, with a combined $145.9M in reported 13F value. The largest position belongs to Donald Smith, where it makes up 2.6% of the portfolio.

Over the latest quarter, 0 of the tracked filers opened a new position in RLJ, 0 added to existing ones, 1 trimmed, and 0 sold out entirely.

Holder counts and values reflect the most recent SEC Form 13F filings, through the quarter ended 2026-06-30. Source: SEC EDGAR. A 13F shows only long US-listed positions and can lag the real portfolio by up to 45 days, so this is disclosed long ownership, not a complete picture.

How to read a 13F

SEC 13F · co-ownership

Also held by these investors

Investors holding Rlj Lodging Trust (RLJ) also commonly hold →

RLJ's price is not below its conservative value band. See current strike-zone stocks

Also on

Sources· SEC EDGAR 13F as of 2026-06-30 · filed 2026-08-11

Educational data only — not investment advice. 13F positions are self-reported and can lag up to 45 days.

Stay Updated

New-quarter 13F moves and valuation updates, to your inbox.